Just my Luck

The day started out pretty badly. The venue of the convention I attended to was so far from where I live, I had to travel 2 hours to the city, and walk at least 300 meters from the MRT to the hotel. Conference participants didn’t care if their mobile phones rang loudly or how they answered just as loud and disturbed the whole plenary session. Add to that my lack of comprehension of scientific and clinical terms on TB. I’m a development communications graduate, not a nurse and definitely not a doctor.

But as fate would have it, the day ended weirdly, as I won the grand prize of P20,000 for the raffle that was drawn at the end of the conference. How ironic can it get? I was complaining the whole time, and yet I won the prize in the conference I “hated”.

My father (bless his soul) used to be very lucky in raffles, coming home from abroad with a television and a stereo system he won. Guess luck is in the genes?

Still I’m very thankful. Extra money to pay for important obligations could not have come at a more perfect time. I’d still have to share my small blessings with my colleagues, friends and family. A simple lunch or dinner is surprisingly enough to satisfy everyone. More bang for the buck, I guess,

Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a comment