Waaaahhh!!!

I hate it when my pc doesn’t work the way I want it to.

I’m tired of politics, so let me talk tech for awhile.

Just this weekend I tried installing Starcraft (a strategy game) on my 5 year old pc. I assume that since the game was from ’98, and was made for Windows 98, it would not have any problems running on my WinXP pc. Backwards compatibility yada yada stuff.

I was wrong.

It didn’t take me 15 minutes before the dreaded blue screen of death finally pounced on me and rebooted my pc.

I don’t know what’s wrong. I reinstalled the game, applied the patches, upgraded my graphics card drivers.

Nothing. Blue screen. Reboot. Windows reports that it recovered from a serious error.

For the love of Bill Gates and Blizzard Entertainment I need help!

Damn starcraft.

5 thoughts on “Waaaahhh!!!

  1. BSOD on Windows XP?! That’s some major error!

    XP does have some backwards compatibility issues, mainly because it went through some major revisions from Windows ME.

    Hm… I guess you’d try running it in compatibility mode:

    – right-click on the program icon
    – select “properties”
    – click on “compatibility”
    – tweak the “compatibility mode” to whatever setting you like.

    hope that helps! 🙂

    And oh… Starcraft rocks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

