Kiddie Steps

So I turned 32 last week. Big deal. It was a simple day spent with the people I deeply carebaby for.

Turning a year older should not really be a problem for me. I, however, began entertaining thoughts of having a family of my own. Yes, as in MY OWN.

Not that I want to get rid of my mother, of course not! She’s practically my yaya, cook, ka-chika, atm (sometimes), tagabunot of my grey hair (konti lang naman), and a lot of things. Lately our bond has become more stronger as her bond with my other brother practically dissolved, but that’s another story.

Anyway, I just happened to think more about it when I learned that a friend of mine ‘adopted’ a son with his partner. Althoughย  we do not have laws on gay marriage and so a law on gays adopting a child is yet a distinct possibility, I still felt a bit envious. I started to think of that possibility my self.

Of course I asked Bridget about it and he was… hmmm, hesitant, to say the least. I don’t know if he’s repulsed by the idea, or weirded out, or saw me as some looney old hag, but you get the drift. He’s not ready yet.

Well I’m not quite ready too. But when you start thinking about these things, then that speaks of something. I do not want to have kids just for the simple reason that I don’t want to grow old alone. That’s being selfish.ย  But who knows? When they get old they’ll just probably throw me into some senior citizens’ home. They will, eventually, have their families and leave me alone.

I don’t want to burden them with caring for me when I get all shriveled up. I just want to have the pleasure and honor of caring for a child, teaching him/her lessons in life, giving him/her good education, food, shelter, and making him/her into a good person. Isn’t that too much to ask?

I haven’t decided if I want a biological child (gawd where will I find a woman for this sole purpose because obviously I do not have the intention of marrying a girl), or if I’d adopt.

These are kiddie steps I will have to take myself. ๐Ÿ™‚

8 thoughts on “Kiddie Steps

  1. i’m sorry if i went “manly” on you at the sound of “marriage” and “children”… babe, i’m kinda bothered, or worried maybe? i dunno. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. it’s not an issue really, my love. no person should be forced by anyone to undergo such a huge responsibility. it was just a thought that crops up every now and then. and since we have very open communication lines, then it gets to be discussed. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. MY friend shared an article on kids with me. This is all theoretical ha so don’t shoot me. The article shared that kids now are more of a statement than they are needed. In ye olde times, couples would have kids to help them with their household — farming, manual stuff, whatevuh. Children were seen as helping the family progress. Now naman daw, kids are like an accessory.

    The nurturing instinct in me refuses to believe that but if you look at it from a motivation perspective, there is a hint of truth in that.

    But that of course isn’t applicable to all countries, sa Europe yang study na yan. Iba pa rin ang bond ng anak at magulang dito sa Pilipinas.

    WHAT IS MY POINT!? I am confusing myself. Ah, here’s my point. Children will come in time. Kahit ako naguluhan na diyan and I’ve accepted na darating din ang oras, bahala na si Batman. Tama naman na basta bag-uusap kayo ng partner mo, basta’t bukas sa isa’t isa, hindi kahirapan ang concern na yan.

    Ay naku tama na nga ang pagkaserious. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Hope you got my e-card.

  4. hi jher. belated happy bday! i’ve been out of circulation for the past few weeks and i haven’t read your blog – and bridget’s, and anna’s, and toni’s, and many others i usually read. anyway, having kids is a BIG responsibility. it can bring out the best – and the worst – in you. so it’s something you really have to think about before you make the decision. good luck! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. toni, lani, anna & tin

    thanks for the greeting and the sweet words. what can i say? you are the best gal friends a gal like me can ever have. lol ๐Ÿ˜›

    have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

