I won! Yey!

I don’t know if I should be even announcing this, but I won something out of the photos I took with my camera phone the last time I was in Beijing.

Last month I joined this photo contest by National Geographic Channel and Sony Ericsson called Windows To Asia. All the participants had to do is to submit a photo taken by a Sony Ericsson phone. Photos should be able to capture the richness and vibrancy of Asia. Since I have taken a couple of pics in Beijing and Mongolia from my last trip to these countries last November, I decided to submit my favorite, entitled “Waiting in the City”.

Waiting in the City

While waiting for my companions inside the Forbidden City, I saw this woman rummaging through her things in one of the benches in the area. The lighting was quite dramatic, and the scene had an old Asia feel to it. So I took the shot and filed every photos I took in my computer and forgot all about it.

Months later I saw this contest online and on cable and I decided, hey, why not? I joined.

Unfortunately, I did not win the grand prize which is a trip for two to Mongolia (hah, been there, done that, LOL). I didn’t win the 1st place prize for the country entries either, which is a Sony Ericsson Cybershot phone. But the email I received said that I’ll be getting a NatGeo backpack, a photography chuvaness book, and other NGC goodies. Not bad. After all, I didn’t take that picture with a contest in mind, and I did use a camera phone. So to come up with a photo like that is something I’m actually proud of.

Winners will be announced formally at the same website on March 27, so unless I forfeited my winnings by this early announcement, I would just like to thank Nat Geo and Sony Ericsson for the opportunity to showcase my meager talents, and to my Bridget for constantly telling me that I took a beautiful picture. His encouragement inspired me to join the contest. Thanks babe. 🙂

33 thoughts on “I won! Yey!

  1. Congratulations!!! kebs na yung blog awards na yan…local lang yun….pang-international vyuti mo noh!!!!! Pramis ang ganda ng picture!!!! iready mo na yung “miss india about to hear the news of the beauty pageant winner” look moh!

  2. Tsk! For shame! However will you deal with the possibility that this lola will see her face on the Internet on some international photo contest, realize it’s her, and drop dead of a heart attack?

    How will you live with yourself knowing that you are responsible for the death of Lola?! 😉

  3. Oo naman atticus, phone yan. A sony ericsson k610i. Di ko pwedeng madaya yan at lilitaw naman sa meta-data ng jpg file kung anong klaseng camera ang kumuha. 2 megapixels lang yung phone but as you can see, it’s not about the pixels, it’s about composition, lighting, eklaver and eklavu. hahahahahaha. thank you!

  4. I also have a Sony Ericsson 2 mp camera (W810i). While I know it takes great photos, I never realized it’s full potentials until I saw this winning photo of yours.

    Galing Pare! Congratulations! 😀

  5. snglguy – Thank you. I’m not that much of a photo enthusiast really. Natiyempuhan ko lang naman. I’ve much to learn. 🙂

  6. congratulations! i got here through your partner, Jerome’s blog.
    ganda nga ng winning pic, love the play of shadows/light…
    i’m a happy Sony-Ericsson camera phone user, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

