Is online ranting getting out of hand?

Most blog or facebook posts would start harmless, talking about activities, sometimes accompanied with pictures, videos and what not.  On regular days this would be interesting for some, and nothing to most.  Posts like these would just pass our scans as we read through them. We comment, we interact, and there’s peace in the world.

But on special days, there are posts that sometimes catch our eye. Then people start to ask: ” What is with that post?” ” Who is he referring to?” “Why is he reacting that way?”

And then this is where it gets messy.  People would sometimes go through all the trouble analyzing, speculating and assuming.  Then sometimes it gets “personal.” Your space begins to feel that it is no longer yours because people start to intrude, asking you stuff and giving unsolicited advice and telling you how to do things.

Now, that’s fine and dandy but sometimes, some people get too touchy and then they tell you to talk to the person in a proper forum, complain to the authority who can handle the situation or just tell it to the person straight to his face. Worse, some people you do not even know starts to attack you and not just your posts.

Seriously? My posts? You, random reader, are telling me how to deal with my life on my posts?

WTF?

My knee-jerk reaction would be something like “Hey, this is my space and I will put whatever I want to put and you do not have the right to tell me what and what not to do. Especially when I am using my resources, my energy and my time. So get the F**k off my site if you do not agree with me.”

Or…

“I do not come to your house and tell you how to discipline your children, how to pay for the bills, or how you cook your meals don’t I?”

Or am I wrong?

Is opening my space and allowing people to read my posts equal to allowing them to tell me how I should speak my mind? Is the line between online and real life, personal space already blurred?

I personally maintain that my space is my sanctuary, and only I will have the right to tell myself how I will use it.  If I want to rant about a person, a situation or a thing, I will do it in this space and i will not be allowed to be put to the task of how I should be doing it.  If I want to complain to a proper authority and in person, then I will do it without anyone having to tell me to do so.

What is so wrong with that?

How do you handle your online space ranting?

Leave a Reply

