The Big Bad Blogger is…

Me! Yes! I am the Big Bad Blogger! Buwahahahaha!!!! *insert flames and lightning here*

Yeah right. I wish this blog has been that active and that controversial. It’s been a year or so since I attended a blog event, and even longer than that when I visited a restaurant organized by someone so that we can have reviews of the place.

Organized blogger events can be tricky.  As a blogger you feel that you have your reputation to protect since no one is there to protect or castigate you (an editor). But a part of you wants to please the owner since he thought about you and gave you something in return (food, for example).  I admit some of my posts from these blog events were slightly leaned towards pleasing the “client” of the organizer.  Yes I would put some “not so good” points there but generally it is more to “promote” the venue.  So typically pinoy, the hiya and utang na loob.

Anyway, after the initial organized blogger events, I still got invited to other events, but seeing that these events were not even my cup of tea, or outright promoting a product or a person, I just declined.  I have been struggling for years to bring focus to my blogging, and these events promoting just about anything is not helping. Eventually the invites stopped.

I am not as active as I used to be, but this issue of the Big Bad Blogger is hitting home and is giving bloggers a bad name. There are still a lot of us out there who blog because we genuinely enjoy (or despise) a product, food or service. We are grateful if we are acknowledged for being “the blogger to invite” for events but at the end of the day, we still need to maintain whatever reputation that we have. And no freebie can compensate for that reputation that we tried so very hard to establish.

So bloggers who still get those freebies or get paid to post, if you get invited for an event, please think of your readers, and not just what’s in that goodie bag. You have not been paid for blogging for years, why should that change?  Get a real job if you want to get paid. 😛

Read the controversial Inquirer article of Margaux Salcedo here…

And Anton Diaz, of Our Awesome Planet, insinuated to be the BBB has this to say…

Leave a Reply

